Books by Paula Harmon

The Wrong Sort To Die  London 1910. Dr Margaret Demeray is approached by a stranger called Fox to help find out what’s killed two impoverished men. How can a memory she’d buried possibly be linked to the deaths? And how come the closer she gets to Fox the more danger she faces herself? Margaret must discover the truth before someone – known or unknown – silences her for good.

MURDER BRITANNICA: It’s AD 190AD in what is now broadly north of Cardiff. Romano-Briton Lucretia is determined that her get-rich-quick scheme will not be undermined by minor things like her husband’s death, dubious imposters or her married daughter’s fascination with a celebrity gladiator. But when the deaths start to mount up, local wise-woman Tryssa starts to ask questions.

 MURDER DURNOVARIA AD 191. An ancient grove, broken promises, a lost keepsake. The last time Lucretia saw the town of Durnovaria she’d just rejected an arranged teenage marriage, but now she’s back to claim an inheritance, taking the local wise-woman Tryssa as a companion. Unknown to anyone, two hapless grave-robbers have been seeking ancient treasures in a stone circle nearby. As the past starts to catch up with the present, Tryssa must discover who would kill rather than reveal long-buried truths… and what those truths actually are.

MURDER SATURNALIA Midwinter, AD 192. While Lucretia follows another money-making scheme and Dun the ex-grave-robber is hired for a Saturnalia job, Fabio avoids marriage to shy Adriane by joining Petros undercover in Vademlutra. But an unexpected death means Fabio, Petros, Adriane and Dun must work together to prevent not only more bloodshed but Roman retribution.  

KINDLING: a collection of stories from the wild imagination.      Extracts from reviews: ‘Some were emotional and others were magical, but all of them were gripping and enjoyable reads…I adore this collection of stories. I smiled, I cried and I was amazed. Each story has been cut and polished to perfection…go on spoil yourself!… This book is well worth the money, It is packed tight with short stories, each one a little gem in its own right. Secondly, this book is charming in its quirkiness. …Really enjoyed the mixture of short stories. Made a nice change from reading a full on novel. Imaginative but also very real. Loved it…. A truly delightful mix of short stories….I loved the variety of the stories in this book – some set in the past, some in the future and some straddling the two! Imaginative, unexpected, challenging…’

THE ADVENT CALENDARImagine an old fashioned advent calendar. Imagine that there’s a picture behind each door. What if each picture told a story about Christmas, not the way it’s hyped, but the way it is, or can be or could be.         Extracts from reviews: Some of the stories are emotional and thought provoking, while others are magical and full of Christmassy spirit…What you don’t expect is the themes of the stories, so wide and varied….The stories are beautify crafted, and some will make you melt, some will set you on edge but each will have you eager to turn the page…Wow! A little bit of everything for everyone. Happy, sad, humorous, all of them definitely thought-provoking.’

THE CLUTTERING DISCOMBOBULATOR: the story of a man who never quite grows up and the family caught up in the chaos. Extract from reviews: ‘I’m sure, like me, you’ll find yourself edging him on to cause more havoc to his long-suffering family.’…’subtle humour and some killingly hilarious insights…Very cleverly constructed, this is a gem.’…’ you’ll forget about the dishes in the sink and the dust on the bookshelves’…’humorous but very affectionate ….This is a lovely book!’ To find out the background to the book, click here

THE QUEST  In a parallel universe, dragons are used for fuel and the people who understand them are feared as spies and traitors. Dorissa and Menilly, estranged sisters descended from the dragon-people, are desperate to find their runaway brother before he falls victim to the urban underworld. But the mysterious Mr Beringer believes they are the only key to saving the country from revolution. Who can be trusted in a fog-bound city, which simmers with unrest and deceit?

THE SEASIDE DRAGON (for children aged 8+) When Laura and Jane’s father takes them to a rundown holiday cottage, the worse they expect is to have to manage without wifi for a few days. The last thing they expect is to find themselves face to face with a dragon and in no time at all, fighting to save their parents.

You can find my books on Amazon:


And Goodreads:


Cover credits:

Paula Harmon with credit for the image ‘Ancient Roman Mosaic of a Young Woman’ to (c) Neil Harrison (The Cluttering Discombobulator)

Kindling: with credit for ‘Double exposure portrait’ (c) Lenanet via

The Advent Calendar’s cover was designed by Paula Harmon with image from Pixabay.

The Quest’s cover was designed by Paula Harmon with credit for ‘Beautiful Girl’ (c) Elena Gladkaya and  Victorian Street 2’ (c) Unholyvault via Font: Cinzel and Cinzel Decorative by Natanael Gama (font squirrel).

2 thoughts on “Books by Paula Harmon

  1. Are there anymore books in the Lucretia Roman British series coming? I enjoyed the two books but would love to see Lucretia get her comeuppance. She is the most arrogant, self indulgent nasty spirited person I have ever read about. Also interested in Tryssa’s future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lorraine – hopefully a third will be out later this year all being well. Tryssa will be there too, making sure Lucretia doesn’t get away with anything, so keep your eyes peeled!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.